Throw-Back Thursday - Murdo's 'Gold-Dust-Twins' Dominant DUO in 1954


Former Jones County star, Frank Brost, bottom and left was inducted into the South Dakota High School Basketball Hall of Fame earlier this spring

Frank Brost from Jones County inducted into the South Dakota high school basketball HOF

The Class of 2018, from left, front, Frank Brost, Lisa (Kurtenbach) Glanzer, Jared Reiner, Mandy Kappel, Harvey Schaefer. Back, Howard Bich, Dona Ray-Reed, Cary Hornaman, Misty Tyon representing her father Louis Tyon, and Tom Diefendorf representing his late father John Diefendorf. Also inducted were John Bertolero, Chad Greenway and the late Dick Baun. (John Simko Photo)         

A huge honor for Sioux Falls resident and former Murdo high school standout, Frank Brost, who was inducted into the South Dakota high school basketball Hall-of-Fame during ceremonies on March 31. 

Brost had a heck of a career in Murdo leading the Coyotes to a 75-10 record during the final three years of high school. 

But, he wasn't alone on those 1950's teams. 

During Brost's junior year the Mitchell Daily Republic coined the nickname, the 'Gold Dust Twins' for Brost and then senior center, Maury Haugland. That special season of 1954 saw the Coyotes finish 30-2

The Coyotes lost to Provo, 65-62 on the first day of the tournament. After trailing 36-21, Brost helped lead a comeback with 19 points. After defeating Highmore, 76-61 the GOLD DUST TWINS squared off against Claremont for fifth place. In that game the Coyotes trailed 40-28 but Brost notched 25 points to lead his team to a 61-57 win that clinched 5th place.

1955 sees first-ever All-State team selected: 

Prior to 1955, the only post-season awards were an All-Tourney selection after the state tournament. To get on that team you had to qualify for the state tournament. 

In 1955 that all changed. 

Brost, who scored 25 points per game his senior season and 1500 for his career was one of ten players selected the first-ever Class B all-state team.

1955 Class B all-state team

Frank Brost - Murdo

Gib Burnette - White River

Garney Henley - Haiti

Harry Marske - Andover

LaRue Martin - Selby

Marv Rasmussed - Claremont

Merlyn Smith - Avon

Marvin Speck - Gann Valley

Don Walder - Hayti

Harley Zephier - DuPree

Feature Friday looks at former Pine Ridge star, Louis Tyon who was recently inducted into the South Dakota High School basketball HALL-of-FAME